Skip to content ↓



Achievement - The progress and success of a student in their learning, development or training.

Assessment - Ways of judging how well students are progressing.

Attainment - The standard of the students work shown by test and examination results and in lessons.

CA - Controlled Assessment.

CAF - Common Assessment Framework.

Catchment Area - A defined geographical area from which an Academy takes its students.

CLD - Complex Learning Difficulties (includes Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome).

Code of Practice - A guide to Academies and Local Authorities about the help they can give children with special educational needs.

Connexions Service - A youth service providing advice, guidance, support and personal development for all 13 to 19 year olds.

Core Curriculum - English, Mathematics and Science – subjects which must be studied by all students.

Curriculum - All the courses and learning opportunities an Academy offers, or a course of study being followed by a child.

DFE - Department for Education – the government department responsible for education and adult skills.

Differentiation - The way in which the Academy’s curriculum and teaching methods are adapted to meet the needs of children.

EBD - Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties.

Equal Opportunities - The chance for everyone to participate in Academy life/curriculum.

Evaluation - How well did it work?

EWO - Education Welfare Officer – a person employed by the LA to make sure that children are getting the education they need. They deal mainly with Academy attendance.

Exclusion - Exclusion means that your child may not attend lessons or go on to the Academy premises for a set period of time, or permanently.

GCSE - General Certificate of Secondary Education.

ICT - Information and Communication Technology - refers to the whole area of computers.

IEP - Individual Education Plan – drawn up by an Academy’s SENCO (Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator). It sets targets for a child to achieve and a date for a review of progress.

Inclusion - A process by which Academies, local authorities and others develop their cultures, policies and practices to include students.

INSET Days - In-Service Education and Training. INSET days are set aside to allow teachers to update their skills and knowledge in order to raise student achievement.

Key Stage - Your child’s progress through the Academy is measured in Key Stages. Key Stage 1 covers students from 5 to 7 years, Key Stage 2 from 7 to 11 years, Key Stage 3 from 11 to 14 years and Key Stage 4 from 14 to 16 years.

LA - Local Authority – a body responsible for providing education for students of Academy age in its area. It also has responsibility for early years, the youth service and adult education.

Learning Difficulty - If a child has a learning difficulty they may find it harder to learn than most children of the same age.

LSAs - Learning Support Assistants – a non-teaching member of staff who helps to meet the educational needs of children.

Mainstream Academy – Any Academy that is not a special Academy or an independent Academy.

MLD - Moderate Learning Difficulties.

National Curriculum - The basic framework setting out what children aged 5 to 16 years in a state Academy should learn.

National Levels - There are eight National Curriculum levels, covering the ages 5 to 14 years. The lowest is level 1 which describes the achievements of children at around the age of 5. The highest level is 8 which is attained by the more able students at the age of 14. At Year 9, the expected level is level 5 or 6.

OFSTED - Office For Standards in Education – the body which inspects state funded Academies. OFSTED inspectors produce education reports to help improve Academies.

Participation - Do all students join in? Can they?

Progress - Development and improvement.

Progression - Do students move forward with their learning?

PSP - Pastoral Support Plan.

Performance Tables - Available towards the end of the year to help parents whose children are moving to a secondary Academy choose where they want them to go. You can ask at the Academy for a copy for your local area.

SEN - Special Educational Needs – learning difficulties, talents or other needs, for which a child requires special help. One in five children may have some sort of learning difficulty during their Academy life.

SENCO - Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator – the teacher in an Academy who is responsible for arranging the extra help for children with special educational needs. Our SENCO is Mr Dow.

Sp.L.D - A child has a Specific Learning Difficulty if they have a problem with one or more areas of the curriculum, usually reading, writing, spelling and / or number work.

Statement - A document that sets out a child’s specific educational needs and all the extra help (provision) they should get.

Targets - The individual goals set for a child. Targets are a way of checking a child’s progress.

Teacher Assessments - The teacher assesses the level of student performance at Key Stage 3 or grade at Key Stage 4 and reports this back to parents.

Work Experience - A system which allows students approaching the end of their secondary education the opportunity to take part in work placements.